Skip to main content

General Information

The establishment of our department was decided in 1999, and graduate programs in Old Turkish Language in the 2002-2003 academic year, Turkish Literature in the 2004-2005 academic year, and Turkish Language and Literature undergraduate program in the 2005-2006 academic year started.


In the department consisting of New Turkish Language, New Turkish Literature, Old Turkish Language, Old Turkish Literature and Turkish Folk Literature; historical period Turkish languages ​​(Old Turkish, Karakhanid, Old Ottoman, etc.), Turkish grammar; to linguistics; Ottoman period Turkish literature; from Tanzimat to modern Turkish literature with all its aspects; folk literature and professional English are included.


Students who complete their four-year education will graduate with a total of 147 credits. Our department aims to provide its students with a comparative and interdisciplinary perspective in their studies.


In our department in Davutpaşa campus, there are five departments, namely Old Turkish Literature, New Turkish Literature, Folk Literature, Old Turkish Language and New Turkish Language. Our academic staff continues education and research activities in these fields.


In our department, there are 5 professors, 4 associate professors, 7 assistant professors, 2 doctor research assistants, 4 research assistants and 1 administrative staff work.